Skip to content

Bourbon Pecan Pie

December 13, 2011

‘Tis the season for pies and cookies galore.  One of my more famous pies is the Bourbon Pecan Pie that I just started making last year.  We had a pie bake-off at work and I needed something quick and easy. I found this recipe online and won the pie contest. I’ve had many requests for it since.   I can’t even pretend that I made this up – I got it straight from Paula Dean.  I can attest to the fact that I had to make up my own baking time as this one is WAY off. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 prepared unbaked pie crust (I like Whole Foods deep dish if not making it myself)

1 cup sugar

3 tablespoons butter, melted

1/2 cup dark corn syrup

3 large eggs, beaten

1 1/2 to 2 cups pecan halves

2 tablespoons good-quality bourbon

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

In a medium bowl, stir together the sugar and melted butter. Add the corn syrup, eggs, pecans, and bourbon, and stir until all ingredients are combined. Pour mixture into an unbaked pie shell, and place on a heavy-duty cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes. Lower the oven temperature to 350 degrees F, and continue to bake for an additional 45 minutes, or until pie is set.   To know if your pie is done jiggle it.  It should jiggle just a little in the center.  (you can also sing…jiggle it just a little bit as you do so.) If your pie is not yet ready bake for another 5 mins and check again.  Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack.

 

Unbaked Pecan Pies

Unbaked Pecan Pies

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

